Altinkaya Fish Restaurant, Alsancak on 18th June 2016

Altinkaya Fish Restaurant, Alsancak on 18th June 2016

KathyBy Kathy Martin…

Saturday 18th June 2016 I invited my friend Cathy Lund to join me at the Altinkaya Fish Restaurant, Alsancak on the recommendation of our excellent dentist, Dr Dudu Otçuoğlu (Altinkaya Dental Clinic) (Cathy had recommended Dr Dudu to me). Dr Dudu advised me NOT to visit on a Sunday, as was my original plan, unless I enjoy loud music!

Altinkaya beach group

The Escape Beach club below the Ice Club aka Altinkaya Fish Restaurant

Unfortunately, the Escape Beach club, which is just below the Altinkaya Fish Restaurant, plays their music extremely loudly from 11.00 a.m. until 18.00. Despite protests to the police from the Altinkaya Fish Restaurant! As my darling Alistair would have said “But hey, this is Cyprus”!

2 Altinkaya cardA friend warned that their meals are huge, meze followed by a main meal, so we started with just a drink and upon looking at the menu found that it was easy to order a small meal!

Altinkaya menu (some of it!)

Altinkaya menu (some of it!)

Cathy had a fried hellim starter (15tl) and I am a complete failure, as I forgot to take the obligatory photos of our meals!

She selected Calamari (Kalamar) (20tl) as her main course and it came with a bowl of salad and a plate of genuine chips, which I can confirm because Cathy allowed me to steal one!

With my small appetite I just ordered the Black Tiger Prawns (Karides) starter to have as my main dish – this caused a tad of confusion as the waiter’s English and my Turkish were both limited but the message got across! These were delicious and I was given plenty of hand wipes to use, as they are definitely a finger meal!

The fixed menu prices, which starts with a range of meze dishes, ranged from 45tl for Tavuk Şiş (chicken skewers) or Et Koftesi (meat balls) up to 70tl for Bebek Orfoz (Baby Grouper) Orfoz Biftek (Grouper steak), Kızıl Çipura (Red Sea Bream).

4 Altinkaya beach parasailThe location is wonderful for beach and seaside viewing

Drinks menu

Drinks menu

It was a shame that we were the only lunch time customers, I am assured it gets very busy on Sunday lunch time!

Our bill which included two Efes (10tl each about £2.40) and two diet Sprites (6tl each about £1.44) came to 102tl. For my English readers this is about £24. Having not been to UK for about eight years I have no idea how this compares!

The Altinkaya Fish Restaurant, Alsancak is easily found, travelling along the coast road to the West, as it is next to the enormous memorial to the valiant Turkish Soldiers, who came to rescue the Turkish Cypriots in 1974.

Enormous memorial to the valiant Turkish Soldiers (from the road on the right and from the restaurant on the left, showing our mountain range behind)

Enormous memorial to the valiant Turkish Soldiers
(from the road on the right and from the restaurant on the left, showing our mountain range behind)

This entry was posted in Northern Cyprus and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

